easily discouraged

March 21, 2008

why is it so easy to become discouraged? there are times when i spend hours on the internet looking at photographers websites and blogs and flickr images. instead of doing my own thing and taking my own photographs. ive been having this discussion with friends lately and how easy it is to give up on something you are doing when you see someone younger and supposedly more talented than you doing it first, or doing it better. its  hard to push yourself beyond that, to realize that you have to keep doing what you do no matter what anybody else is doing.

listen to russell simmons:

“In my experience, there’s only one thing that will always steer you toward success: That’s to have a vision and to stick with it… Once I have a vision for a new venture, I’m going to ride that vision until the wheels come off.”

“If you aren’t passionate about a vision, it’s hard to have faith in it.”

“What holds most people back isn’t the quality of their ideas, but their lack of faith in themselves.”

One Response to “easily discouraged”

  1. stan Says:

    Man, I thought I was the only one who felt that way. I’m a graphic designer (who loves and does photography) and as I go on interview after interview while working a crappy job, it seems like the world is passing me by. I know giving up isn’t the answer, but its hard to find the motivation to keep going.

    Coming across your blog and knowing someone else feels my pain helps.

    Keep up the good work & I’ll be back


Leave a Reply

