the GS

July 28, 2008

about 6 or 7 years ago i purchased a 1964 Vespa GS from a kid in north jersey. completely original, no restoration, the engine was the same engine placed in her in italy, the cables, the tires, everything (except for the paint job, some moron decided she would look better in an off white brownish tan color, instead of its original white) had not changed since 1964. she was a bargain at $1400.00

i moved to philly in 2003, bringing her with me. The first day i rode her in the city, i blew the piston and sentenced her to years of disrepair and immobility. she would run every once and awhile but never the same. in the summer of 2004 while riding her to my school’s darkroom on broad street, while changing lanes i clipped the back end of a car and flipped the bike and myself half a block to finally rest in front of the double tree hotel. we were both bruised and broken. luckily i recovered, she on the other hand did not. for  3-4 years she sat dormant, would start and quickly die, and just wouldnt run. it was a shame. not having the funds or the time to put into getting her back into shape, i gave up. my friends constantly urged me to not give up and to get her running, but it was always put off. a few dire times almost forced me to sell her at a loss, but at the last moment i would change my mind, keeping her a little while longer.

i am glad i never sold her. this past weekend i dug her out of my old house, where she had been collecting dust, cat piss, and spider webs, and annoying my old roomates. i was under the impression that she wouldnt start and would need a lot of work to get her to start, but jeffrey decided to just give it a shot and try and start her. after a few kicks she turned over and started up. enveloping the backyard with stinky blue smoke. a miracle? a sign from the heavens? i dunno, but it definitely put a spark under my butt to finally get her into shape!

many thanks to jeffrey and lina for allowing her to take up space in their back yard for so long. and for jon geiger (vespa philadelphia) for never letting me give up!

she’ll be looking and running like this in no time:

3 Responses to “the GS”

  1. Gustaf Says:

    Nice. I still have my 50cc 1969 Vespa sitting in my parents garage over in Sweden. It never really ran great as long as I’ve had it but I still have hopes of renovating it one day.

  2. meredith Says:

    well, if you need any parts or anything you know who to ask.

  3. sorry « Says:

    […] the GS is running, and has been around the block a few times, still trying to get some kinks worked out, […]


Leave a Reply

